City Government

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Brookhaven Mayor and City Council


The Brookhaven City Charter vests the legislative authority in the Brookhaven City Council. The council is chaired by the mayor and comprised of four district representatives. The districts were created based on the 2010 U.S. Census.

The council is tasked with voting on all ordinances, resolutions, rules and regulations, as well as setting the annual budget and millage rate. All legislation must be in compliance with the city charter, state law and the U.S. Constitution. 

The mayor presides over council meetings, sets council meeting agendas, signs all checks and orders, and executes all contracts and deeds. The mayor also appoints the city manager, city clerk, city attorney and city accountant, as well as members of boards and commissions, with approval of the council.

Three council members constitute a quorum. Under the charter, the mayor shall vote only in the case of a tie or when his vote will provide the number of votes necessary for approval.

The mayor and council members each have four-year terms.


For more information, visit the city charter Here.


Click here to view a map that outlines Brookhaven’s four council districts.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer